Skip to content

College of Built Environments Faculty and Student receive Husky Sustainability Awards 2023

husky sustainability award

The Husky Sustainability Awards recognize individuals and groups across all University of Washington campuses who lead the way for sustainability at the University of Washington. This is the 14th year awards have been given by the UW Environmental Stewardship Committee.

The Husky Sustainability Awards are given to students, faculty and staff from the Seattle, Bothell and Tacoma campuses who show impact, initiative, leadership and dedication around sustainability. Congratulations to the Husky Sustainability Award winners from CBE — Heather Burpee, Radha Iyer, and Jan Whittington!


Heather Burpee, research associate professor in the Department of Architecture, faculty, is the co-director of the UW’s Integrated Design Lab (IDL). She has advanced sustainability at the University of Washington with lasting impact across all aspects of UW’s interconnected missions of research, teaching, and service.



Radha Iyer, student in the Department of Architecture, has been a driving force behind student sustainability efforts. A senior, she has been an integral part of UW Solar, a student-run RSO.




Jan Whittington is the associate professor of the Department of Urban Design and Planning and director of the Urban Infrastructure Lab, which brings together students and faculty with a shared interest in the planning, governance, finance, design, development, economics, and environmental effects of infrastructure.



Read more about the winners by clicking the link below.

Read More