Skip to content

CBE Celebrates 2023 Faculty & Staff Award Winners

The University of Washington College of Built Environments (CBE) recognized faculty and staff at the 2023 CBE Graduation Celebration. These awards celebrate CBE faculty and staff for their dedication, service, and many contributions to our community. Congratulations to all our awardees!


Lionel Pries Award for Excellence in Teaching
Catherine De Almeida

Our first award is nominated by students in the College of Built Environments. The Lionel “Spike” Pries Award For Teaching Excellence recognizes outstanding teaching by faculty within the College of Built Environments during this academic year as nominated and voted on by CBE students. 

Catherine is recognized for not only her teaching and research, but her mentorship of students. Her dedication to social justice, inclusivity, and collaborating with communities is exemplary and inspiring.

Outstanding Faculty Award
Jeffrey Ochsner

The Outstanding Faculty Award recognizes a full-time faculty member who has made the most notable contributions in their field or to the community in research and/or service, to their department or college, or to students through teaching and/or service during the past academic year. 

Jeffrey is commended for his dedication and support of students and faculty during his long tenure. His knowledge and service to the College and community are substantial — ensuring students are prepared for careers in the built environment.

Outstanding Part-Time Teaching Award
Marty Curry

The Outstanding Part-Time Teaching Award recognizes a part-time faculty member who has made the most notable contributions as a teacher during this academic year.  The award recognizes the significant contributions made by part-time faculty members in teaching and acknowledges that the reputation of the college depends on the quality of the educational experience provided by them. 

Marty has been a consistent and calm presence. Her kindness to students while upholding high standards, her valuable contributions during faculty meetings, and her responsiveness to students and staff make her a highly regarded member of the CBE community.

Distinguished Staff Award
Laura Barrera

The Distinguished Staff Award is intended to recognize the recipient’s extraordinary contributions to the College in the past academic year. The nominee should contribute to a positive collegial environment for the benefit of faculty, staff, and students, with a focus on promoting unity and communication as well as demonstrating an extraordinary level of commitment, leadership, and cooperation. 

Laura is a standout among staff in the college. She is exceptionally collegial, and a constant source of support for those with whom she works. She is supremely diplomatic, always has a positive mindset, and is a thoughtful leader.

In addition, the College Council would like to acknowledge the contribution and achievements of the following faculty members with an Outstanding Contribution Award for their outstanding work in scholarship, teaching, and/or service: Heather Burpee, Manish Chalana, Yong-Woo Kim, Jake Labarre, and Bill Estes.

View Graduation Photos

Watch the Ceremony