Skip to content

2021 AIA Seattle Honor Awards

On Monday, November 8, AIA Seattle hosted the 71st annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design.  The Honor Awards is a nationally recognized program that provides an important opportunity for the design community to share and celebrate its achievements, both among practitioners and with the community-at-large.

As in previous years, the UW Department of Architecture community was widely recognized, with multiple awards going to our faculty, alumni, PAC members and their firms. We are proud of the strong connection our program maintains with Seattle’s thriving professional community and our robust, active Professionals Advisory Council that supports our students and faculty in profound ways. 

Sixteen award winners were selected by the jury from 103 submittals.  Included among the awardees were Associate Professors and architects Elizabeth Golden and Rick Mohler.  They received an Honorable Mention for the Seattle Street Sink program, a community-based network of handwashing stations designed in response to the lack of public hygiene infrastructure.  

Other notable recipients with close ties to UW include:

  • The Miller Hull Partnership, who received an Award of Honor for Loom House, as well as an Award of Merit for the Hans Rosling Center for Population Health, right here on the UW campus
  • LMN Architects, who received an Award of Honor for their work on the Mukilteo Ferry Terminal
  • Rob Hutchison of RHA, who received an Award of Merit for the Rain Harvest Home
  • Olson Kundig, who received an Award of Merit for ANOHA—The Jewish Museum Berlin 
  • Susan Jones of atelierjones, who received an Honorable Mention for Constitution SHED

Congratulations to all who were recognized for their stellar design work in our region!

Visit the Online Gallery to learn more about the projects, as well as project team and collaborator information. Missed the live show? You can catch the replay here.